The Dark Knight

I’ve given The Dark Knight a lot of thought since I saw it yesterday. I’ve tried to be objective and judge the movie on its merits, but I have to admit it’s difficult not to be swayed.

The level of media attention this movie has received is such that it’s almost doomed to disappoint a good number of people. It is also very hard to gauge whether people are genuinely being entertained or whether they’re just caught up in the hype.

I know that the plot was a little muddled at times when the Joker and Twoface strands started interlacing. You could probably snap the film in two and turn it into a great Joker/Batman movie and a good Twoface/Batman movie. Perhaps that would have been the way to go, but I don’t think it matters a great deal.

The Dark Knight feels like more of a tribute to the mythology than most superhero movies. The characters on screen do all the work when it comes to making the movie entertaining. I’m not sure whether it was the intention, but I never cared much about the plot simply because I was too busy relishing every moment Batman and the Joker were on the screen.

I do think that Heath Ledger deserves a posthumous Oscar for his portrayal of the Joker. Maybe he’ll get one, but I doubt he’d even be nominated if he hadn’t died so tragically.

Anyway, there are a million and one reviews of this movie online, so let’s just say it’s an amazing movie and leave it at that. If you are a comic book fan, you can’t fucking knock it, because this is what you’ve been waiting for all your life.

Now I’ll finish with a short list of random points:

  • Bale’s raspy Batman voice still sounds a bit rubbish.
  • Removal of the love interest was a relief for me. All the romance in all the previous movie incarnations felt forced and out of place.
  • The cowl still makes Christian Bale’s chin look a bit small, but they did improve the costume. They got rid of those weird triangle clasps on the cloak and it all looked less like moulded rubber.
  • I thought the Batpod looked ridiculous in previews, but seeing it in action was great.
  • The tank-like Batmobile has grown on me too.
  • Fuck you, internet! You told me there was something after the credits.
One Response to “The Dark Knight”

  1. Yeah and what happened to the Watchmen Trailer? No show in UK cinemas…

Leave a Reply

