I Am Legend

Who in Hollywood keeps green-lighting these insults to my intelligence? I actually quite like Will Smith, but not if he insists on ass-fucking the life out of classic science fiction on a regular basis.

Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend is one of my favourite sci-fi books of all time. Matheson’s writing can be a bit turgid at times, but the pay off is so good. It is absolutely worth adapting, and has been before (Omega Man and The Last Man on Earth), but if you’re going to do it, do it right. Please don’t spend half your budget on shitty CGI and please don’t fuck up the ending (the best thing about the book). I seriously do not understand this CGI for CGI’s sake in modern movies. The vampires are a bit pale but basically human-shaped, so why not just use actors and make-up? Spending billions of dollars on rendering them from head to toe makes absolutely no sense to me. It looks worse than using actors primarily because CGI isn’t yet at a standard where human faces can be convincingly recreated. It’s like the director put together half his scenes with a copy of The Sims.

It’s not all bad. I mean, I watched the whole damn thing. It just makes me angry that again, just as with I, Robot, another great story is stripped of its worth and turned into generic pop garbage.

One Response to “I Am Legend”

  1. lucidlunatic Says:

    Frankly the CGI didn’t bother me. So long as it doesn’t interfere with the plot, the director/producer should feel free to fulfill his vision of the book.

    The changes to the plot, such as the ending, were what bothered me. Much like I, Robot, it’s functionally a different story than the book. While they have certain similarities, they don’t extend far. The main character’s background is completely different, his character (in general) is completely different, and other than the dog’s demise, there aren’t many plot points in common either.

Leave a Reply

