Justice

I recently finished wading through this series and I have to admit I was a little underwhelmed. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I actually prefer Alex Ross’ painted art over Doug Braithwaite’s pencils (somehow, I think Braithwaite manages to make the characters look a little darker). The comics are stunning to look at, they really are. It’s just the story that’s a bit of a let down and if it weren’t for the breathtaking art, I’m not sure I’d even have bothered to finish reading. Thinking back, the story didn’t quite live up to the hype in Marvels or Kingdom Come either, but I think both were a little better than Justice.

Justice is written by Alex Ross and Jim Krueger, who worked together on Earth X, Universe X and Paradise X. The pair are currently working on Project Superpowers and Avengers/Invaders. I like their nostalgic approach, which gives their comics a classic, golden age feel. It’s just a shame it’s not backed up with a little more substance.

Leave a Reply

