Dexter

Earlier this week I took a swipe at Californication’s title sequence. I want to go on record saying that, in stark contrast, the title sequence to Dexter is one of the finest to ever grace our screens. I’m three seasons in and it still makes me smile.

I am not sure at what point I decided that Dexter was working for me as a kind of American Psycho substitute, but the realisation took the shine off it a little. I had even read the first two Jeff Lindsay novels – on which the TV show is based – in a vain effort to feed my inner psychopath. I have the third one on a shelf, but the terrible reviews have so far put me off reading it. Alas, Dexter Morgan is no Patrick Bateman, but the show continues to entertain with its latest season. The producers made the wise decision to cut ties with the books and go it alone. I love the concept, the Miami setting and the high production values.

Oh, and I think I’m maybe a tiny little bit in love with Rita.

Leave a Reply

