Comic Book Round-Up

It’s that time again.

These are some of the newer comics I’ve been reading recently:

Final Crisis 4 (of 7)
By Grant Morrison and J. G. Jones

I am really struggling to get excited about Final Crisis. The best bits so far have been Geoff Johns’ completely incidental spin-offs, to the extent that it feels like they would have been better off not even bothering with the main title.

Final Crisis: Submit
By Grant Morrison and Matthew Clark

What a waste of my money. Hard to believe that Grant Morrison once wrote Arkham Asylum, isn’t it?

I’m unsure how much I should blame the increasingly dire Grant Morrison for the ‘Final Crisis’ fiasco, as it seems some fault also lies with the editors at DC who insist on getting around a table every six months or so and brainstorming a muddled mess to inflict on the comic book readers as the next “Crisis” event.

Final Crisis: Resist
By Greg Rucka, Eric Trautman and Ryan Sook

Mr. Terrific is, well, terrific, but was not enough to save this from being another mediocre book. This was the first time I’d read anything much about Checkmate, which I personally found somewhat interesting (the most intersting thing about Resist at least). Better than Submit, but that’s not saying much.

Final Crisis: Legion of 3 Worlds 2 (of 5)
By Geoff Johns and George Perez

Why isn’t Geoff Johns in charge of ‘Final Crisis’? I mean come on, he’s obviously more capable than Morrison.

And why isn’t he writing an ongoing Legion series instead of sneaking them into the pages of Justice Society of America and Action Comics? I thought their appearance in Action Comics was superb and now he’s teamed up with the legendary George Perez for this ultra-hot mini-series. Geoff Johns gets me genuinely excited about the Legion, which I think is quite an impressive feat considering how ridiculously dorky they are.

I wonder if the Legion of Super-Pets will make an appearance at some point.

Final Crisis: Rage of the Red Lanterns
By Geoff Johns and Shane Davis

Rage of the Red Lanterns is a lead-in to ‘Blackest Night’, which Green Lantern readers (myself included) are all very excited about. I can’t see what it has to do with ‘Final Crisis’, though, so what’s the point of putting it under the ‘Final Crisis’ banner? They should have made this a two part story in the ongoing Green Lantern title.

On another note, the angry space cat was probably the least terrifying villain I’ve ever seen in the pages of a comic. I mean, what the fuck?! Angry space cat??!

Final Crisis: Rogues’ Revenge 3 (of 3)
By Geoff Johns and Scott Kolins

I said lots of good things about this mini-series in a previous round-up. This final issue wasn’t very climactic, but ah well, this series got me wanting to read The Flash again, so all credit to it.

Justice Society of America 19
By Geoff Johns, Alex Ross and Dale Eaglesham

Wow, so this Gog thing is still going on, huh? Do me a favour and wake me up when it’s done. It’s not that bad really, but come on, this storyline needs a boost.

Justice Society of America 20
By Geoff Johns, Alex Ross and Dale Eaglesham

Every time Obsidian makes an appearance, I think of Diabetes.

Booster Gold 13
By Chuck Dixon and Patrick Olliffe

Geoff Johns finished on this title with issue 10, but I read a ton of Chuck Dixon comics when I was a teenager and he was writing Robin, so figured I could give him a chance. The idea of Booster Gold travelling through DC’s history is such a good premise, I’m sure Dixon will be able to keep the title entertaining.

A story featuring Starro is a good start! Boy do I love Starro. The best Starro story I’ve ever read was Justice League Europe 26-28. They’re all good, though. I mean it, you can’t go wrong with Starro.

Secret Invasion 7 (of 8)
By Brian Bendis and Lenil Yu

The saga draws to a close with the penultimate issue of what has been a thoroughly worthy series.

The New Avengers 46
By Brian Bendis and Billy Tan

Villains, villains and then some more villians. The Hood is pretty damn cool. They should give him his own title.

The Mighty Avengers 19
By Brian Bendis and Khoi Pham

I’m not very interested in Captain Marvel, so I didn’t enjoy this comic much. I’ll be glad to get back to some regular stories. A few of these ‘Secret Invasion’ tie-ins have been great, but the sheer number is slightly unnecessary.

Thor 11
By J. Michael Straczynski and Olivier Coipel

Okay, I have to admit, I think it’s the art which has got me reading this title recently. I love Coipel’s detailed pencils. He’s one of Marvel’s most popular pencillers, so I guess the powers that be at Marvel are serious about making Thor a popular character again. Straczynski’s not doing a bad job on the writing, either, but it’s a bit too early for me to tell whether this is something worth getting excited about.

Uncanny X-Men 503
By Matt Fraction, Ed Brubaker and Greg Land

If you want freaky mutant dominatrix action, this comic has it in spades. Every issue is filthier than the last. They just need to throw some Nazis and sharks in there and it will be exactly like an evening of Channel Five programmes condensed into comic book form.

Project Superpowers 6
By Alex Ross, Jim Krueger and Carlos Paul

I’ve already said enough about this title in my blog. I’ll be glad when the the first volume is over and done with, frankly.

One Response to “Comic Book Round-Up”

  1. There another volue of project superpowers to follow methinks..

Leave a Reply

