Batman: Arkham Asylum

Being the comics nerd I am, I rushed to get my copy of this game when I read the reviews and it eventually hit stores. Does it live up to the hype? Well, yes, it pretty much does.

It really helps that they brought in Paul Dini to write the script, because in Arkham Asylum the story mode actually feels like an interactive comic, and a decent comic at that. I raced through the main game in a matter of a few days and was sad when it all came to an end. At least the Challenge mode is still keeping me occupied.

One area where I was a little let down was with the puzzles. I didn’t find them particularly challenging, so the bits where I got held up involved old-fashioned button bashing combat or jumping from platform to platform without getting hurt. There are countless riddles to be solved and items to be found, but you can find various maps which provide you with all the solutions. It makes the exercise a bit pointless.

Anyway, overall it’s all highly addictive and easily the best superhero game to have ever been made. I wanted to keep on playing to see which familiar character would feature next. For fans of Batman, this is probably the most rewarding aspect of the game.

3 Responses to “Batman: Arkham Asylum”

  1. Just got this. Looks really well realised so far. A bit weird that Eidos is only down the road from me.

  2. thebigsmoke Says:

    So, verdict?

  3. Really enjoyed this, not sure whether it was the gameplay or due to a really good story with great characterisation. The side quests felt like they were really worth doing (especially compared to games like Assasins Creed). Only downside is that as a mish-mash of styles, even on the hardest level, I thought it was easy. Anyway, no half-life episode this year?! That sucks.

Leave a Reply

