Ghostbusters: The Video Game

Remember how excited I was about the Ghostbusters video game? Well, I bought myself a copy and have spent a considerable portion of my weekend trying to battle through its story mode.

Am I as enthusiastic about this game as I was last year? Not really, but it’s keeping me occupied. Somehow I managed to convince myself I’m a gaming savant and I opted to try playing it through for the first time on the hardest possible setting. The result is that after hours of game play I’m only on the third level. It wouldn’t be so bad, but one of the most frustrating things about the game is it takes too long for the levels to reload when you die and then you often have to repeat lengthy cut scenes before the action starts. It gets slightly farcical when you have twenty seconds of shooting your proton pack, die horribly, then have to wait two or three minutes to do it all over again.

Another frustrating aspect of the game is the way in which your character handles. You can’t run and shoot, for example; switching between weapons takes too long; you have to use one button for several functions, which makes it too easy to carry out the wrong action in the heat of battle.

If this wasn’t a Ghostbusters game, I probably wouldn’t give it a great deal of my time. However, not only is it a Ghostbusters game, but it’s a Ghostbusters game voiced by the original movie cast and with a true-to-its-roots script written by Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis. This is basically the closest thing there currently is to a third Ghostbusters movie, which makes playing it essential as far as I’m concerned. Now if only I could find a way to do that without having the urge to hurl my controller at the wall or having to start the game again from scratch.

Leave a Reply

