Hurt Locker

I posted up a review of Avatar a little while back, so now here are my thoughts on Oscar rival Hurt Locker. No witty title for this entry, I’m going to get straight to the point and give you a no nonsense critique. Basically because that requires the least amount of effort on my part.

I have to admit I was ever so slightly disappointed Hurt Locker wasn’t Point Break in Iraq. They don’t make action movies like Point Break anymore, so I guess some part of me sort of thought maybe another movie like that would be cool. It’s just a personal thing, because I really liked Point Break a lot.

However, I think it is fair to say Hurt Locker is a more accomplished piece of film-making; in fact it’s arguably Kathryn Bigelow’s best film to date. It is a fast-paced, adrenaline-fuelled story about bomb disposal experts working in Iraq. Don’t expect a clever plot, because the film is more a series of events which help to illustrate the trials of the job being done. The lack of direction in the plot seems to have divided opinion a bit, because I know some viewers have found the film pointless and frustrating.

I personally found Hurt Locker insightful and thought-provoking. The only other film about Iraq which bears comparison is Jarhead and I think Hurt Locker is a superior, more likeable film. I also think it is a better film than Avatar, for what it’s worth.

Leave a Reply

