52 Book Pick up: March update!

Strangely, these book updates get quite a bit of attention from people who don’t usually check out my blog.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe people just love books.

Only five books this month, but I’m still going strong.

13. Firebreak by Richard Stark

Image

If you have read any of my other updates, you’re probably tired of reading about Richard Stark by now.  I actually started Kim by Rudyard Kipling, but found it a bit tiring, so I turned to this instead.  Very entertaining it was too.

14. Killing Floor by Lee Child

Image

I didn’t like Die Trying, but thought I’d give Lee Child another go.  I already had this on my shelves, so what the heck, right?  Not quite as ludicrous as Die Trying, but still too silly for me to enjoy very much.  Sorry, Jack Reacher fans, but I just can’t get into these books and it’s not for lack of effort on my part.

15. Cotton Comes To Harlem by Chester Himes

Image

Violent, sordid, full of racial tension.  Probably the book I enjoyed reading most this month.  This is the first book I’ve read by Chester Himes and I already have his A Rage In Harlem lined up for reading shortly.

16. The Wind In The Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Image

I had read most of The Wind In The Willows already, when I was young, but felt like giving it proper attention.  I’m glad I did.  I really enjoyed the read.  Now I want to watch that movie version which they made using stop motion puppets.

17. The Ipcress File by Len Deighton

Image

The new editions of Len Deighton’s work have amazing covers, which makes me want to collect the whole set.  However, after enjoying the film version with Michael Caine, this book was disappointing.  In the introduction, Deighton admits he was a naive writer when he wrote The Ipcress File and it was pretty obvious to me as I was reading.

Leave a Reply

